This topic contains 57 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  craftysprinkles 5 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 59 total)
  • Author

Snagg1
      Send PM

I got to thinking that since Lisa G and I are working on the Mixed Media and Canvas class series, that it would be helpful to know just enough to be dangerous on a few of the more common mediums.

I'm not an expert when it comes to Gesso and I certainly don't use it as often as some others, but I do know a few basics. My hope is that you will get goopy and try a few of these and then in true savage fashion, you will make it your own and do something incredible. I also want this tutorial to be an organic, living thread. Huh? LOL What that means is that if you know something really cool to do with gesso tell us! Post a link. Upload your project. Let's all lea from one another!

A few things to know about gesso: Can be purchased in 3 colors: White, Black & Clear

1) Gesso is most commonly used as a primer. Once applied, your surface will have what is known as tooth. Essentially, a grippy surface for any additional mediums to stick to.

2) Gesso can be used to stiffen surfaces. *stop giggling* If you use it to stiffen paper you need to be sure to do one side at a time. Let the first side dry completely before treating the other side.

3) You can tint gesso. Acrylic paint is most commonly used. Pay attention to how viscous your colorant is. Too watery then you will end up with a wash.

4) You can make a wash out of gesso and use it to cover a collage. This will unify your project.

5) Clear gesso can be applied over a semi-gloss or glossy surface to give it some tooth. Now you can create on that surface.